Year 2 Studio Practice S2

life symbol

I brought up being stuck with the class and Jennifer from the new focus group. They gave me an idea which I really like. The idea was to create three images that are one. Which is something Arpita Shah did in her heritage project for the impressions gallery, where she had a little story within the number of photos that could be seen as three images on their own.

I used the life symbol from my previous photo and turned the image black and white, I could place this photo in-between me and my mum to strengthen the meaning of the photos together.

The difference between this image and the one above is I added noise to the photo in Photoshop. I like the the different texture of the photo that it gives off because compared to the photo me and my mum where it more glossy and clear. It will show the difference between them and will show how the life (Anch) symbol is more of a mental and spiritual thing and not physical object. Showing both people looking through the life symbol in to each others eyes, understanding that they both have different life experiences and connecting with each other mentally.

This was a test I did to make the symbol stand out more, I dont like the look of the photo because it stands out too much. My intention for this photo is to use the photo to connect the other two photos of me and my mum and not get too distracted by this photo, I want them to acknowledge the symbol but to acknowledge all three photos as a whole more.

My next task is to combine all three photos of my mum, me and the life symbol.

I wanted the image to be reminiscent to the image above but to have a photography style to it. I wanted to take the simple and elegant look from this photo and transfer it to my project. I didn’t want anything complicated or anything that stands out too much. I feel I have done this well by making my photo black and white and the symbol clear in frame.

Leave a comment